|
mikeboth
|
 |
« on: July 05, 2008, 08:24:36 PM » |
|
Has anyone used this type of screen material before? http://cgi.ebay.com/100-OUTDOOR-PRO-GRADE-HIGH-DEFINITION-PROJECTOR-SCREEN_W0QQitemZ320267991584QQihZ011QQcategoryZ48655QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItemIt it any good? I see the mention of Parkland on here a lot but this ebay listing says it uses A Very Thick And Ridged Poly-Vinyl Substrate? The listing actually uses some pics from members of this site although the members are using different materials and made their screens themselves. It looks a lot like the set up bubsdaddy (Deck) has built and for $150.00 plus $35.00 shipping I may go for it and save myself some ag if you guys and gals give it the thumbs up. For what it's worth I'll be taking it inside after use and I'll be using it on a deck much like the bubsdaddy (Deck) setup.
|
|
|
|
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 12:06:15 AM by mikeboth »
|
Logged
|
Mike
|
|
|
|
|
|
Hawkes
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2008, 12:33:36 AM » |
|
They actually show bubsdddy and orthofunk is their picture gallery on that listing. I'd be interested in a review.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
-Hawkes 
|
|
|
|
JoeMcGin
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2008, 10:01:10 AM » |
|
They have one of my pictures on there too (the basketball one). It looks like they are just stealing pictures from this site and pretending they are using their own material. I wouldn't buy from them for that alone.
Joe
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
mikeboth
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2008, 10:13:55 AM » |
|
I was really hoping the seller was one of you guys and that you had started your own business or something. I did email the seller asking about sizes and have yet to hear back. I'm not digging the fact that they are using pics of your hard work and ingenuity but the product they sell is enticing to me. I know I can build it cheaper myself but I need to find the right kind of plastic near me then purchase, cut, paint and drill the wood strips then assemble it. I think it's not a bad deal to have it built better than I can do for the extra $100.00.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Mike
|
|
|
|
movielover
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2008, 10:21:33 AM » |
|
that's not a very good way to do business, to steal pictures from other's (unless they got permission from the owners, then i would at least give them credit).
if they are using others pictures how do you know what they are selling will really produce the pictures they say it will ?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Kladder Station Classic Movies - Outdoor Theater
|
|
|
|
mikeboth
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2008, 10:33:01 AM » |
|
I totally agree with you movielover. That's why I am here. I was hoping that someone here was or knew the seller or at least had heard of the kind of plastic they were using. Even if what they say is true is 1.1 Gain good? Is the lower the number the better? They do have 100% positive feedback on 556 customers so that's something. There just is no other place online selling such a thing for $185.00....
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Mike
|
|
|
|
JoeMcGin
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2008, 07:45:58 PM » |
|
Well I can say that they didn't get permission to use my picture. My screen is made of Trapeze anyway so it has nothing to do with the representation of the screen they are selling.
A couple of other things to point out. Their 556 feedback is a as a buyer. They have only received 6 responses for feedback as a seller and none of them are for the screen they are selling.
Also, it looks like the pictures that were not "taken" from this site are just regular pictures with a screen photoshopped into it (IMO).
This does not necessarily mean that it is a bad screen. But they have no history or feedback or even pictures to demonstrate otherwise.
If you do get it be sure to let us know what you think.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
mikeboth
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2008, 08:03:08 PM » |
|
I noticed the 550 buyer feedback as well. When I looked at the 6 seller feedbacks he had I noticed a few of them were for projectors and in those auctions he offered similar screens as a bonus with the projector he was selling. I contacted those buyers via email and asked them what they thought of the screen and the seller and two of them answered me with glowing reviews of the seller and the screen. I have since talked to Jim (the seller) via email twice and have decided to go through with the purchase. Jim says it will be on it's way to me via UPS ground Tuesday. Once I get it I'll need to figure a neat way to give it some legs and then I can bungee it to my deck and have at it. I'll of course let everyone know how it is with pics as soon as I can.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Mike
|
|
|
|
rfisk
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2008, 10:32:14 PM » |
|
I have emailed the seller about removing the images in use without permission.
Randy
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
...take it outside!

|
|
|
|
mikeboth
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2008, 10:55:07 AM » |
|
I received the screen and it went together in no time. I had to make some legs to hold it and viola I had my first ever movie night outside. The screen works and looks fantastic! I've included some pics below. For what it's worth the seller (Jim) seems to be a stand up guy. I don't know why he took pics from here without permission but I sent him some of my screen so hopefully he will use those.
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Mike
|
|
|
|
rfisk
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2008, 11:46:05 AM » |
|
I emailed him with no response. If he's really a stand up guy he'll remove the hacked pictures he stole from the members on this site. Using my photo of my backyard with his screen material pasted in to promote his product is not sitting too well and may result in this thread and any additional promo for him being removed.
I don't like to get like that but if 'Jim' doesn't have enough respect to ask for permission to use photos for his personal gain, or make a change after he's been called on it, that'll be the first step.
Randy
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
...take it outside!

|
|
|
|
hiredpower
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2008, 12:03:42 PM » |
|
I know all too well about this picture "borrowing" thing....
I'm sorry for those of you he has infringed upon, I truly know how you feel.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Believe in Hired Power Entertainment

|
|
|
|
mikeboth
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2008, 12:08:15 PM » |
|
I just emailed him as well explaining the situation. I hope he steps up and emails you back Randy. For what it's worth I just checked his current two auctions and all of the pictures are gone. I'm still so new here I hope this doesn't count as a strike against me. I was just trying to contribute to a site that has given me so much information.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Mike
|
|
|
|
rfisk
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2008, 03:19:42 PM » |
|
Hey Mike, don't worry about that. I've been played by spammers plenty before and I don't feel like that's what's happening here. It's a fine line between sharing good information and promotion but there are generally some indicators I watch for.
The problem I have with this particular situation is pure lazyness and misrepresentation. Anyone with 15 minutes can hack a photo. But to use the result to represent a product you're selling is misleading, at the very least. His bidders/customers are assuming those are real installations of his product and I can guarantee you, his screen has never hung on my screen stand in my backyard. He may be a great guy and all but he should be doing some installations of his product and photographing them instead of simply stealing photos that belong to others and passing them off as his demo installs.
Randy
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
...take it outside!

|
|
|
|
movielover
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2008, 03:26:17 PM » |
|
did anyone notice the one of the patio ? it looks like he pasted a picture of his screen one it.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Kladder Station Classic Movies - Outdoor Theater
|
|
|
|
|